Day 6: Don’t even start with me about how long ago this was

I’d like to invite you all on a time travel back to June 6 because I’m not being a good blogger but I still want to write all this stuff down so I can remember it.

I hyped everyone up for the Wafel Truck the night before, and I’d like to apologize for that. I may or may not have recited the menu from memory in front of a small audience. I may or may not have set a schedule and planned the route we would travel to get to the Wafel Truck. I also may or may not have woken up at 8 a.m. to check the schedule, just in case, even though I had nothing to do until 11.

And then.

I checked the Wafel Truck twitter, which told me that the truck would not be by Columbia University like I thought it would be. Instead, it would be somewhere around 45th or something. Distraught, I tweeted at them and received a speedy response, but not the one I wanted.

So, bummer start to the day. But, I suppose this shouldn’t be the highlight of this post. On this day, we went to the 9/11 Memorial, as well as St. Peter’s and St. Paul’s churches.

Here is the new, One World Trade Center in construction.

I’m not completely sure where the actual crash site is because I am a terrible American. I also kind of wished I had been able to see it when it was in full Ground Zero mode which sounds really bad, but I haven’t been keeping up with the construction news so the moment wasn’t as poignant as I thought it would be for me. Please don’t think me insensitive.

We then went to St. Paul’s Chapel. I should mention that this is part of the Episcopal Church, which will make my Nana really happy. The Chapel was nearly unscathed during the attacks, which is pretty remarkable. It’s really small and cozy and there are lots of memorial displays inside. We also walked around the cemetery. I took a total of zero pictures here because I did not want to be haunted by ghosts, because if I were a ghost I would totally haunt tourists while they walked all over my burial site.

We went to St. Peter’s Catholic Church. It was very big and quiet and there were about three people praying when we went in so, unlike other people, I did not traipse around the altar. I also didn’t take pictures here because it was kind of solemn and I think I might have been struck by lightning for disturbing the atmosphere.

Vanessa, Cara, and I were starving but did not want to pay a lot for lunch so we set off looking for a Chinese restaurant, the cheaper/more food-poisoning inducing, the better. And oh, did we luck out. $5 a pound at some place called “China Garden”. That’s a lie, I don’t remember the name but I definitely ate a pound of food except for the dumplings, which were slightly suspect.

Oh, we’re talking about food again? What a surprise. I should probably mention then, that we got Pinkberry after that. And then we had pizza during our class movie night. I think that totaled to about three straight hours of eating.

For movie night, we watched Mrs. Parker and the Vicious Circle starring Jennifer Jason Leigh in the titular role (please, let me be using this word correctly). The film was made in 1994 and starred so many popular 90s actors it is not even funny—Matthew Broderick, Martha Plimpton, Lili Taylor, stupid Gwyneth Paltrow, the dad from the O.C.

Also, Campbell Scott, who I only recognized from the short-lived Six Degrees.

Does anyone remember this show? He was my favorite character.

Anyway, this movie was extremely entertaining and clever and Dorothy Parker has now been added to my list of heroines. I’d say more about it, but you should watch this film on your own, if not for your interest in 1920s-era writers, then for Dorothy Parker’s crazy accent.

I’m pretty sure I went to bed right after the movie ended because I am a delicate flower and my entire lower body was killing me from walking around all day.

One thought on “Day 6: Don’t even start with me about how long ago this was

Leave a Reply

