Bestdaybestdaybestday

I’ve been in a salty mood for the past few days. I miss my family and my friends at my big dumb co-op and whatever and I’m also very accustomed to a sedentary lifestyle, so all this constant activity is weird and new to me. #boohoo

But! Today snapped me right outta that frame of mind because I got to see two things that I love: dinosaurs and space. If you know me, you know that I am not a science-y person. I was awful at physics and had to beg my high school chemistry teacher to count old homework points so I could scrape by with a decent grade. This is because I need to be tricked into learning things. Turn on an episode of Bill Nye the Science Guy or Magic School Bus and I’m sold. Basically, I’m okay with any elementary school level science (but mostly, dinosaurs and space).

Which is why I loved the American Museum of Natural History.

This museum.

When you first walk into the museum, you are greeted with a sort of Guggenheim-esque swirly path that surrounds the space exhibit (except, unlike the real Guggenheim, it does not suck). Does the Guggenheim have a giant globe filled with a fern and Sea Monkey’s? Does the Guggenheim have a meteor?

The answer is “no”.

I was mainly interested in seeing the dinosaurs, though. Luckily, there are dinosaurs on not one, but TWO floors of the museum. The first set are in the Teddy Roosevelt Rotunda, but apparently going too far in there would have meant exiting the museum, so I snapped a quick picture and left.

Not pictured: Brontosaurus on the left (but you can see his feet a little)

Before going up to the big dinosaur area, we found an exhibit of “Asian Peoples”. But first, we had to go through an exhibit of “African Mammals”.

Elephant

Buffalo. His horns look like a toupee. Hehe.

Giraffe aka THE BEST/MOST IMPORTANT ANIMAL OF THEM ALL

Then, there was an exhibit of “African Peoples”. Getting to my kin was an arduous task.

Pygmies.

There was a display of these insane ceremonial costumes. For example:

Finally, we got to the Azn Pplz.

Armenian bride.

Aladdin’s Lamp! THE REAL THING YALL!

Masks from…somewhere in Asia.

Chinese pottery. This may look like celadon but don’t be fooled because you know who invented celadon? That’s right, Koreans.

There was only one little display for Korea entitled, “Korea: the Uniqueness”. I have no idea what that means. I don’t want to get all radical up in here but I feel like Korea gets picked last for the dodgeball team. Like, China and Japan and India are the star players and Korea is like “But have you tried our barbecue?” Whatever.

Korean woman. Had I not been adopted, this is what I would look like.

Korean scholar aka the model minority.

There was also this, in the Asian tchotchke area.

Spirit post!

Just like in the episode of M*A*S*H when Colonel Potter makes Radar take down the spirit post and then everyone gets bad luck and they bring in the priestess lady to perform an spirit cleansing! What a great episode.

Okay, all this is making it seem like I forgot about dinosaurs. WELL THINK AGAIN. I’m going to make another post after this where I just blow up your screen with dinosaur skeletons. So get ready.

